Main Content

Board of Directors

The Canadian Ophthalmological Society (COS) is directed and operated by a Board of Directors, Council and Committee Chairs, members, and staff.

The Board of Directors on behalf of the membership and vision care community, governs COS through continually improved leadership with respect to our mission.

In addition, the Board of Directors establishes and records policies for the strategic direction and good management of COS, and oversees a number of COS Councils and Committees focusing on specific areas of service.

COS Board of Directors (2019-20)

President Yvonne Buys, MD Ontario
President-elect Colin Mann, MD Nova Scotia
Board Liaison, Resident and Young Ophthalmologist Affairs Setareh Ziai, MD Ontario
Chair, Council on Advocacy Phil Hooper, MD Ontario
Chair, Annual Meeting Planning Committee Mona Harissi-Dagher, MD Quebec
Chair, Council on Continuing Professional Development Colin Mann, MD Nova Scotia
Secretary Jamie Taylor, MD British Columbia
Treasurer Ravi Dookeran, MD Manitoba

Did You Know?

COS offers unique membership benefits, a leading-edge Annual Scientific Meeting & Exhibition, a diverse range of Continuing Professional Development services and an Awards program for outstanding achievement or research excellence.