Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) Working Group

COS Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (Updated February 2022)

The Canadian Ophthalmological Society (COS) embraces inclusivity and opposes discrimination based on (but not limited to) religion, race, citizenship, country or ethnic origin, language, age, political affiliation, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, cognitive or physical ability, and economic status. As the recognized unified voice for ophthalmology in Canada, COS is strengthened by its diversity, and the COS is committed to being a leader in equity, diversity and inclusion in ophthalmology. COS members come from broad and diverse backgrounds, and this variety of experiences, training, and personal qualities is fundamental to a physician’s ability to provide the highest quality and culturally competent care for all patients.

EDI Working Group Members

Nupura Bakshi, MD Chair
James Taylor, MD COS Board Representative
Seema Emami, MD Resident Representative
Nina Ahuja, MD
Chris Hanson, MD
Edsel Ing, MD
Femida Kherani, MD
Nir Shoham-Hazon, MD
Antony Theogène, MD
Elisabeth Fowler COS Executive Director & CEO


- Minimize

+ Maximize