Lifetime Achievement Award

2012 Recipient

W. Bruce Jackson, MD, FRCSC
Professor of Ophthalmology
University of Ottawa Eye Institute

Remarks by Dr. Sherif El-Defrawy, MD
Presentation by François Codère, MD, COS President
Wednesday, June 27, 0800-1000, Metro West during Current Concepts I

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to individuals who have made a sustained impact nationally and internationally on the growth of the profession and who have maintained the highest standard of patient care in their practice. The recipient of this award has also been a strong and positive role model in the community and an exemplary mentor and educator.

Award for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research

The Canadian Ophthalmological Society congratulates the recipients of 2012 COS Award for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research.

  • First prize
    David Almeida, Queens University
    Randomized controlled trial comparing nepafenac, ketorolac and placebo in preventing macular edema after uncomplicated cataract extraction
    COS-2 Cataract Surgery, Wednesday June 27, 1045-1215

  • Second prize
    Vivian Yin, University of Toronto
    The effect of repeated topical fluoroquinolone use post intravitreal injection for neovascular age-related macular eegeneration (AMD) on ocular surface flora
    Retina, Thursday June 28, 1545-1715

  • Third prize
    Laura Beltran-Agullo, Toronto Western Hospital
    Faster visual recovery following Ex-PRESS than trabeculectomy: results of a prospective randomized controlled trial
    Glaucoma, Wednesday June 27, 1545-1715

  • First prize
    Weerawat Kiddee, Toronto Western Hospital Systematic literature review and meta-analysis of IOP elevation post intravitreal steroids

  • Second prize
    M. Nour Haydari, University of Montreal
    Living model for Fuchs endothelial corneal dystrophy

  • Third prize
    Radwan Ajlan, McGill University
    Risk factors affecting optic nerve head blood flow after therapeutic IOP reduction in patients with open angle glaucoma and ocular hypertension

  • 2011 Royal College Medal Award for Surgery

    The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada offers annually a competition for the RCPSC Medals in Medicine and Surgery. These awards provide national recognition for original work by clinical investigators who have completed their training within the past 10 years. The award is presented to a Fellow who completed original work in clinical investigation, or the basic sciences relating to medicine or surgery, in Canada.

    The 2011 Royal College Medal Award for Surgery was awarded to Dr. Sonia Yeung, for her manuscript: Targeted Delivery of Magnetic Cobalt Nanoparticles to the Eye Following Systemic Administration.

    COS congratulates Dr. Yeung on this national award for her original and outstanding work.

    For more about COS awards and past recipients
    Click here