Lifetime Achievement Award

The Canadian Ophthalmological Society is pleased to recognize member ophthalmologists who have made a significant contribution to eye care during their lifelong career in medicine.

This Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to individuals who had made a sustained impact nationally and internationally on the growth of the profession and who have maintained the highest standard of patient care in their practice. The recipient of this award has also been a strong and positive role model in the community and an exemplary mentor and educator.

This year, the Society presents this award to Pierre Labelle, MD.

COS 2010 Awards of Excellence in Ophthalmic Research

Paper Presentations

  • 1st place
    Dean T. Jeffery
    Vascular risk factors in patients with retinal emboli
  • 2nd place
    Hannah Chiu
    Breaking down barriers in communicating complex Retinoblastoma information: Can pictures be the solution?
  • 3rd place
    Toby Chan
    Intrastromal versus topical moxifloxacin in a rabbit model of Pseudomonas aeruginosa keratitis

Poster Presentations

  • 1st place
    Stephanie Proulx
    Tissue engineering of a posterior corneal substitute using the self-assembly approach
  • 2nd place
    Toby Chan
    Descemet - stripping automated endothelioal keratoplasty versus triple procedure: A comparative case series on visual outcome an complications
  • 3rd place
    Boram Hong
    Visual function in school age children with a history of prematurity: Preliminary results

Remarks by H�l�ne Boisjoly, MD, MPH, FRCSC