Lifetime Achievement Award, 2019

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to individuals who have made a sustained impact nationally and internationally on the growth of the profession and who have maintained the highest standard of patient care in their practice. The recipient of this award has also been a strong and positive role model in the community and an exemplary mentor and educator.

This year, the Canadian Ophthalmological Society is pleased to present the Lifetime Achievement Award to Hélène Boisjoly, CM, MD, MPH, FRCSC, DABO. SEE MORE

Friday, June 14, 9:40 a.m.
Room 2000C (Main Plenary Room)
Quebec Convention Centre

2019 COS Awards for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research

The Canadian Ophthalmological Society congratulates the recipients of the 2019 COS Awards for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research. Presented annually since 1995, the COS Awards of Excellence are open to residents, fellows and medical students conducting original, innovative research at a Canadian university. Award winning abstracts combine three main criteria to deliver relevant and exceptional research that benefits Canadian ophthalmology. These criteria include: quality, importance and educational value.


First prize
Jacob Rullo, Queen’s University
Intraocular antibodies as a novel target for understanding and treating vascular diseases of the eye
Presented during The Art and Science of Medical Retina

Second prize
James J. Armstrong, University of Western Ontario
Acetylation of COX-2: An immunoresolving therapy
Presented during Latest Updates in Uveitis

Alexander L. Pearson, University of Ottawa
A large international study of LHON epidemiology
Presented during Self-reflection: How things are now, are being done, and what should we change!

Third prize
Jennifer L. Gao, Dalhousie University
Comparison of the diagnostic sensitivity of macular ganglion cell layer thickness, peripapillary retinal nerve fibre layer thickness, and Bruch membrane opening-minimum rim width in detecting glaucoma
Presented during Glaucoma Frontiers


Presented during Current Concepts I

First prize
Jim T. Denstedt, University of Western Ontario
Improving glaucoma surgery with the small molecule ALK-5 inhibitor SB-431542

Second prize
Andrei-Alexandru Szigiato, Université de Montréal
Long term visual outcomes of the Boston keratoprosthesis type I

Third prize
Qinyuan (Alis) Xu, University of British Columbia
Amyloid-β localization in the human retina: Exploring potentials of early and non-invasive ocular detection of Alzheimer’s disease

Thank you to the Awards Chair, Dr. Cindy Hutnik and the members of the adjudication committee for the paper awards: Drs. Catherine Birt, Chloe Gottlieb, Rishi Gupta, Yacine Touahri and Setareh Ziai; and poster awards: Drs. Michael Fielden, Ali Hafez, Bernard Hurley, Lisa Lagrou, Rusty Ritenour, Corey Smith, and Vivian Yin for their time and support in selecting the 2019 winners.