HOME

REGISTRATION

PROGRAM
>> Full scientific program
>> Outline
>> Co-developed accredited symposia
>> Guest speakers
>> Speaker information
>> CPD credits
>> Case submission

SOCIAL EVENTS

ACCOMMODATION

TRAVEL

WINTER ACTIVITIES

PAST AND FUTURE MEETINGS

CONTACT US


Du 26 février au 1er mars 2015, la Société canadienne de la rétine (SCR) a tenu le congrès de première importance pour les spécialistes de la rétine au Canada. Il a eu lieu dans la belle ville de Whistler, en Colombie-Britannique. Le cadre spectaculaire et la richesse culturelle de ce centre de villégiature en montagne parmi les plus beaux d'Amérique du Nord se prêtaient parfaitement à l'apprentissage, au réseautage et à l'aventure.

Le congrès a réuni une brochette impressionnante de spécialistes d'ici et d'ailleurs. Le programme scientifique exceptionnel a permis de présenter des conférenciers invités d'Europe, des États-Unis et du Canada et de traiter notamment de traumatismes oculaires, de techniques chirurgicales de pointe et d'ophtalmologie de haut niveau.

La SCR a présenté avec beaucoup de fierté la toute première Conférence commémorative Dre-Mila-Oh, qui a été livrée par la Dre Brenda Gallie. Depuis 40 ans, la Dre Gallie et son équipe de recherche font porter leurs efforts sur l'optimisation des soins contre le rétinoblastome, une maladie rare qui leur apprend les principes de base du cancer, de la génétique et de la médecine translationnelle. Les travaux de la Dre Gallie témoignent de la touche internationale et locale du congrès de cette année qui illustre comment la recherche canadienne change le cours de la vie des patients, tant au pays que partout dans le monde. La SCR tient par ailleurs à remercier la Fondation de la rétine du Canada de son généreux soutien à cette conférence.

Le congrès a aussi donné lieu à la présentation des résultats de la toute première « Enquête sur les préférences et les tendances au Canada (CAN-PAT) », une autre nouveauté cette année. Merci à tous les membres de la SCR qui ont pris le temps de répondre à cette enquête. Les données ont fourni un aperçu intéressant de nos choix quotidiens en clinique et nous avons hâte de publier bientôt les principales conclusions. Nous allons préparer les questions de l'enquête de l'an prochain et nous sommes ouverts à vos suggestions. Il suffit de les faire parvenir au Dr Netan Choudhry à myhealthyretina@gmail.com.

La rencontre de cette année n'aurait pas été possible sans le travail acharné et le leadership des Drs James Whelan, président de la SCR, Matthew Tennant, coprésident et directeur du développement professionnel continu, et Netan Choudhry, coprésident. L'an prochain, la SCR accueillera la Dre Pradeepa Yoganathan à la coprésidence et le Dr Netan Choudhry à la coprésidence du développement professionnel continu.

HOME

REGISTRATION

PROGRAM
>> Full scientific program
>> Outline
>> Co-developed accredited symposia
>> Guest speakers
>> Speaker information
>> CPD credits
>> Case submission

SOCIAL EVENTS

ACCOMMODATION

TRAVEL

WINTER ACTIVITIES

PAST AND FUTURE MEETINGS

CONTACT US


Points saillants en fran├žais

Between February 26 and March 1, 2015, the 2015 Canadian Retina Society (CRS) Meeting, Canada's premier educational event for retina specialists, took place in beautiful Whistler, British Columbia. The spectacular setting and cultural richness of North America's finest mountain resort provided the perfect backdrop for optimal learning, networking and adventure experiences for delegates attending this year's event.

The meeting brought together an impressive breadth and scope of international and local expertise. The exceptional scientific program was delivered by guest speakers from Europe, the USA and Canada, with topics ranging from ocular trauma, cutting-edge surgical techniques to high-altitude ophthalmology.

It was with great pride that CRS presented the Dr. Mila Oh Memorial Lecture for the first time. The CRS was honoured to welcome Dr. Brenda Gallie to present this inaugural lecture. For 40 years, Dr. Gallie and her research teams have focused on optimizing care for retinoblastoma; learning fundamental principles of cancer, genetics and translational medicine from this rare disease. Dr. Gallie's work further exemplified the international and local flavour of this year's meeting by showcasing how Canadian research is helping to make a difference in the lives of patients both here at home and around the globe. CRS would also like to thank The Retina Foundation of Canada for their generous support of this lecture.

Also new this year, was the presentation of the results of the first-ever, made-in-Canada "Canadian Preference and Trends (CAN-PAT) Survey." Thanks to all the CRS members who took the time to complete the survey. The CAN-PAT survey data provided a fascinating glimpse into our daily choices in the clinic and we look forward to publishing the salient findings in the near future. We will be working on next year's survey and welcome your input as we design the questions. Please send your suggestions to Dr. Netan Choudhry at myhealthyretina@gmail.com.

This year's meeting would not have been possible without the hard work and leadership of Dr. James Whelan, CRS President; Dr. Matthew Tennant, Co-Chair and CPD Director; and Dr. Netan Choudhry, Co-Chair. Next year, CRS looks forward to welcoming Dr. Pradeepa Yoganathan as Co-Chair, and Dr. Netan Choudhry as CPD Co-Chair.