Main Content

COS/CMA Jubilee Medal winners

Dr. Lorne Bellan


  • Dr. Bellan has made significant contributions towards the advancement of ophthalmology in Canada and the prevention of vision loss. He is highly regarded by his colleagues and peers within Manitoba, nationally, and in the international ophthalmology communities.
  • Dr. Bellan has provided leadership for ophthalmology at the national level through his work with the Canadian Ophthalmological Society (COS), the Canadian Medical Association, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, the Wait Time Alliance and the National Coalition for Vision Health. Dr. Bellan served on the COS Board for a number of years and most recently as President of the Society.
  • At the provincial level, in his home province of Manitoba, Dr. Bellan serves as the Chief of Ophthalmology of the University of Manitoba and recently created an ophthalmology residents’ program at the University of Manitoba.
  • Internationally, Dr. Bellan represented Canadian ophthalmology as a member of the board of directors of the Pan American Association of Ophthalmologists and as Liaison with the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He remains the editor of the Cataract Module for the American College of Physicians.
  • Dr. Bellan is a strong role model, exemplifying the qualities of personal integrity and compassion. His volunteer work has significantly improved the quality of life for all Canadians.

Dr. Graham Trope


  • Dr. Trope was nominated because of his significant contributions to blindness prevention through philanthropic work in the field of glaucoma. Dr. Trope single-handedly formed the Glaucoma Research Society of Canada, Canada’s only charity dedicated to eradicating glaucoma blindness. The GRSC has raised Cdn $3 million to date and has supported over 150 peer reviewed research groups country wide.
  • Dr. Trope has also been involved in the prevention of glaucoma blindness by his work as a clinician-teacher and glaucoma researcher. He is an award-winning teacher, past chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences at the University of Toronto and past Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology. He has published over 170 peer-reviewed articles and 2 books on glaucoma. In 2001, Dr. Trope won a Council Award for exemplary patient care from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario and in 2012 the University Health Network established the Graham Trope Glaucoma Research Chair in his honour.
  • In summary, Dr. Trope’s volunteer work with the GRSC has changed research lives and the careers of many young investigators. His career contribution to glaucoma treatment and research in Canada is unparalleled.