COS Annual Meeting Highlights

A successful Annual Meeting in Québec City

The 2019 Canadian Ophthalmological Society (COS) Annual Meeting was held in Québec City from June 13 to 16 and was attended by 1,450 delegates who benefitted from the knowledge of keynote speakers from Canada and around the world. This year's theme was "Leadership and Advocacy in Ophthalmology" and featured diverse scientific presentations, workshops and discussions that focused on leadership in healthcare and the important role of advocacy. New this year, the COS hosted a full-day, joint symposium with the Société Française d'Ophtalmologie (SFO) that explored a wide range of topics in ophthalmology. In addition, Dr. Richard Mimeault, a physician advisor with the Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) ran a workshop on "Informed Consent". Here are other highlights from this year's meeting.

Scientific programming that focused on education and fun

As with each COS Annual Meeting, the agenda was crammed full of informative and educational scientific programming. This year's meeting featured sessions on topics such as "Engaging the Future of Ophthalmology - How can we prepare our in-training physicians for the future?" and "Cutting Edge Strategies for Common Vision Problems." The scientific program was well-attended throughout the annual meeting and was led by experts in their fields both within Canada and from around the globe. However, this year, COS also injected a healthy dose of fun into the scientific programming.

On Saturday morning (June 15), delegates participated in the inaugural "Survivor: Cataract Island," a fun-filled moderated debate based on the popular "Survivor" television show. The session featured a tribal council and voting to determine who would prevail in the debate. Host Dr. Devesh Varma introduced two tribes, each comprised of six surgeons, and led the delegates through a debate on the use of Femtosecond lasers, exploring the existing medical evidence and pros and cons involved. A second debate was held on multifocal lenses and discussed whether less than 5% uptake is appropriate. This debate featured the perspectives of experts from Canada and the US. Lastly, the two winning survivors shared best practice pearls of wisdom from their own practices, providing participants with a practical takeaway from the early morning event.

In the same vein of infusing this year's annual meeting with fun, delegates also participated in the first ever "Xtreme Cataract Games," which saw Dr. Ike Ahmed lead three competitors through grueling case presentations that highlighted everyday clinical best practices and surgical hurdles. Drs. Guillermo Rocha, Dominique B. Massicotte and Ken Rosenthal shared their expertise and wisdom, which was used to suggest strategies for extreme cataract surgeries.

Also, on the Saturday morning, Dr. Phil Hooper, Chair of COS' Council on Advocacy, provided an update on the organization's efforts to raise the profile of ophthalmology in Canada and to advocate on behalf of members nationwide. The presentation was held during Current Concepts II and extremely well-attended. Feedback following the advocacy update was overwhelmingly positive, as was the response from members to the "See The Possibilities" videos that have been produced to date - spotlighting the ways in which ophthalmologists help their patients www.seethepossibilies.ca Most importantly, members had an opportunity to hear about how the campaign has helped the COS to increase its "Share of Voice" in the media and to position the skill and innovation of ophthalmologists with the media, the public, government and other health care professionals.

Other scientific programming included the amusingly titled "Do IOU an IOL? …and other issues in paediatric anterior segment," "Glaucoma Frontiers," and "Nightmare in my OR." Of course, these titles were for sessions that covered subjects that were quite serious and aimed to help ophthalmologists in their everyday practice by providing updates on the latest surgical procedures and techniques. There were also sessions on "Best Practices in Retinal Disease Management," and "The Changing Landscape of Ophthalmic Disease and Vision Care."

This year marked the 10th anniversary of our Surgical Skills Transfer Courses (STCs). Since their inception in 2010, the courses have grown to host upwards of 150 participants annually. This year, we built upon many in-demand STCs, including "Suturing an Intraocular Lens and How to Save Yourself, Anterior Vitrectomy," and "Microinvasive Glaucoma Surgery and Adjuncts to Cataract Surgery." We also offered a new course on "Laser Simulation and Cost-Effective Video Recording." Participants rotated through several stations, including laser simulation, smartphone adapters for slit lamps and microscopes, and modifications to point of view cameras for microscope recording, surgical ergonomics and non-microscope-based surgery. Thank you to all our course directors and instructors for developing and delivering these world-class hands-on learning opportunities that offer our members MOC Section 3 credits.

One of the many highlights in Québec City was the "Women in Ophthalmology Symposium - Leading by Overcoming Obstacles" held on Sunday (June 16). Featuring a panel discussion with keynote speaker Dr. Tara McCannel, Director of the Ophthalmic Oncology Center at the UCLA Stein Eye Institute in Los Angeles, California; Dr. Yvonne Molgat; and moderator Dr. Femida Kherani. The panel tackled the main challenges women in ophthalmology encounter and techniques for overcoming those obstacles.

Leading-Edge Research

Research is a big part of each annual meeting, and that was certainly true this year. COS received over 250 abstract submissions from trainees and practicing ophthalmologists. With the support of our abstract reviewers, we were pleased to accept 117 paper presentations and 93 posters, for an acceptance rate of 82%. If you missed the exciting research presented during the annual meeting, our abstract booklets provide access to a written version of each accepted paper and poster presentation.

Each year, COS presents the "COS Awards for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research" to deserving residents, fellows and medical students who are engaged in original, innovative research at a Canadian university. In 2019, the excellent quality of the research led the paper adjudication committee to a tie decision, and, for the first time ever, COS awarded four deserving winners with the prize. COS is proud to recognize the following 2019 winners.

Papers

  • First prize - Intraocular antibodies as a novel target for understanding and treating vascular diseases of the eye · Jacob Rullo, Steven Bae, Wilma Hopkins, Isabella Irrcher, Manpartap Bal, Tom Gonder, Sanjay Sharma
  • Second prize - Acetylation of COX-2: An immunoresolving therapy · James J. Armstrong, Liu Hong, Cindy M. L. Hutnik
  • Second prize - A large international study of LHON epidemiology · Alexander L. Pearson, Lissa Poincenot, Rustum Karanjia
  • Third prize - Comparison of the diagnostic sensitivity of macular ganglion cell layer thickness, peripapillary retinal nerve fibre layer thickness, and Bruch membrane opening-minimum rim width in detecting glaucoma · Jennifer L. Gao, Jack Quach, Marcelo T. Nicolela, Lesya M. Shuba, Balwantray C. Chauhan, Jayme R. Vianna

Posters

  • First prize - Improving glaucoma surgery with the small molecule ALK-5 inhibitor SB-431542 · Jim T. Denstedt, James J. Armstrong, Cindy M. L. Hutnik
  • Second prize - Long-term visual outcomes of the Boston keratoprosthesis type I · Andrei-Alexandru Szigiato, Cristina Bostan, Taylor Nayman, Mona Harissi-Dagher
  • Third prize - Amyloid-beta localization in the human retina: Exploring potentials of early and non-invasive ocular detection of Alzheimer's disease · Qinyuan (Alis) Xu, Sieun Lee, Veronica Hirsch-Reinshagen, Ian Mackenzie, Robin Hsiung, Geoffrey Charm, Elliott To, Kailun Jiang, Alice Liu, Marinko Sarunic, Mirza Faisal Beg, Jing Cui, Eleanor To, Joanne Matsubara

A heartfelt congratulations to all our winners.

More about their research.

Exhibit space sold out again!

Again this year, the exhibition space sold out and attracted leading industry partners who erected ever more elaborate booths and displays for delegates to enjoy. The Exhibit Hall in Québec City attracted hundreds of attendees who gathered to mingle, talk shop and network in a dynamic and professional environment.

COS Annual General Meeting

The COS Annual General Meeting (AGM) took place on June 14, 2019. Updates were provided by COS President Dr. Yvonne Buys and the Executive Director/CEO, Jennifer Brunet-Colvey. Dr. Amin Kherani, Treasurer, introduced auditor Ms. Stephanie Courneyea from McCay Duff LLP who presented the audited financial statements for 2018. Dr. Colin Mann was elected President-Elect of the COS, Dr. Jamie Taylor was re-elected for another three-year term as Secretary of the Society, and Dr. Ravi Dookeran was elected Treasurer. Dr. Guillermo Rocha's term as Immediate Past-President on the COS Board was ending in June and he was thanked for all of his contributions to the COS over the years. Dr. Amin Kherani was thanked for his three years of service as Treasurer. Dr. Buys expressed her gratitude to Dr. Allan Slomovic for his contributions over the past six years on the Board of Directors of the Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology (PAAO) and to Dr. Rand Simpson for his 25 years of service as the COS representative on the International Council of Ophthalmology and in supporting the World Ophthalmology Congress (WOC). As Ms. Brunet-Colvey will be retiring in September 2019, she was thanked for her 10 years of service to the Society and presented with the inaugural "Friend of Canadian Ophthalmology" award in recognition of the significant impact she has had on the COS and Ophthalmology in Canada.

Welcome Reception

The COS Annual Meeting includes social activities each year, none bigger than the opening night Welcome Reception. This year, delegates enjoyed a truly magnificent reception held on the evening of June 13 in the Hilton Hotel across from the Québec City Convention Centre. Patrons enjoyed authentic Quebec poutine, as well as hors-d'oeuvres and cocktails. Guests were also treated to live music provided by a local band of ophthalmologists who played a mix of contemporary songs and classic French folk music. The welcome reception once again provided an unmatched networking opportunity for new ophthalmologists and experienced professionals.

A deserving Lifetime Achievement Award for Dr. Hélène Boisjoly

The COS was pleased to provide its 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award to Dr. Hélène Boisjoly for her outstanding and ongoing contributions to ophthalmology and health care in Canada.

After obtaining a degree in ophthalmology from Université de Sherbrooke in 1981, Dr. Boisjoly specialized in cornea research at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary and the Schepens Eye Research Institute, affiliated with Harvard University (1981-1983). In 1992, she obtained a Master of Public Health degree from the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University. She was a researcher and fellow at the Fonds de recherche du Québec-Santé (FRQ-S) from 1986 to 2001 and worked at Université Laval (1983-1993) before becoming head of the Department of Ophthalmology at Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont, affiliated with the Université de Montréal (1993-1998).

Dr. Boisjoly's research interests include transplant immunology, viral diseases such as ocular herpes, and functional outcomes after corneal transplantation. She received funding without interruption until 2013, publishing more than 80 original scientific articles. She has trained 120 residents and 50 graduate students, including several fellows. Since 2011, she has served as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at Université de Montréal; she has also been a member of several boards of directors and organizations for the advancement of science and medical education. In this capacity, she was president of the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (2014-2016) and since 2012, has been a member of the prestigious M8 Alliance, an international network of universities dedicated to improving global health. In December 2018, Dr. Boisjoly was appointed a member of the Order of Canada. The COS was honoured to recognize the work of Dr. Boisjoly.

Special Thank You

The COS would like to extend a special thank you to the international keynote speakers, Canadian invited speakers and abstract presenters who lent us their time and expertise and provided rich education and learning opportunities. We also extend a big thanks to all the delegates who attended sessions, and the sponsors who gave us their generous support. And we sincerely thank the Session Chairs and STC Course Directors who developed phenomenal educational programming, and COS staff under the leadership of our Annual Meeting Chair, Dr. Mona Harissi-Dagher. Thank you for making this year's meeting such a success.

Additional photos from this year's annual meeting and exhibition will be sent to COS members separately in the coming weeks. We look forward to seeing everyone at the next COS Annual Meeting and Exhibition taking place in Vancouver, British Columbia, June 25-28, 2020.

Points saillants du Congrès annuel de la SCO

Un Congrès annuel réussi à Québec

Le Congrès annuel 2019 de la Société canadienne d'ophtalmologie (SCO) a eu lieu à Québec du 13 au 16 juin et a attiré 1450 délégués qui ont profité du savoir de conférenciers d'honneur venus du Canada et du monde entier. Le Congrès, qui avait pour thème cette année « Leadership et promotion des enjeux de l'ophtalmologie », a proposé des exposés scientifiques, des ateliers et des discussions axés sur le leadership en soins de santé et sur le rôle important de la promotion des enjeux. Cette année, la SCO a organisé pour la première fois un symposium conjoint d'une journée avec la Société française d'ophtalmologie (SFO) qui a exploré un large éventail de sujets en ophtalmologie. En outre, le Dr Richard Mimeault, médecin-conseil à l'Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM), a donné un atelier sur le « consentement éclairé ». Poursuivez votre lecture pour d'autres points saillants de l'assemblée de cette année.

Un programme scientifique axé sur l'éducation et le divertissement

Comme toujours, le Congrès annuel de la SCO a proposé un vaste éventail de séances scientifiques informatives et éducatives, notamment « Prévoir l'avenir de la profession - Comment préparer nos médecins en formation pour l'ophtalmologie de demain? » et « Stratégies à la fine pointe pour les problèmes de vision courants ». Les séances scientifiques, menées par des experts du Canada et de l'étranger, ont attiré beaucoup de participants tout au long du Congrès. Toutefois, cette année, la SCO a également injecté une saine dose de plaisir dans la programmation scientifique.

Samedi matin (15 juin), les délégués ont participé à la séance inaugurale de « Les aventuriers : l'île de la cataracte », un débat animé et amusant basé sur la populaire émission de télévision « Survivor ». La séance comprenait un conseil tribal et un vote pour déterminer qui aurait préséance dans le débat. Le Dr Devesh Varma, animateur de la séance, a présenté deux tribus, chacune composée de six chirurgiens, et a mené avec les délégués un débat sur l'utilisation des lasers femtosecondes, en explorant les preuves médicales existantes ainsi que les avantages et les inconvénients. Un deuxième débat portant sur les lentilles multifocales visait à savoir si un taux d'adoption de moins de 5 % est approprié. Ce débat a mis en vedette les points de vue d'experts venus du Canada et des États-Unis. Enfin, les deux « survivants » gagnants ont partagé des perles de sagesse tirées de leurs propres pratiques, ce qui a permis aux participants de tirer des leçons pratiques de l'événement du matin.

Dans le même esprit ludique, les délégués ont aussi participé aux tout premiers « Jeux extrêmes : la cataracte », où le Dr Ike Ahmed a présenté aux trois concurrents des cas particulièrement difficiles mettant en évidence des pratiques cliniques exemplaires quotidiennes et des problèmes chirurgicaux. Les Drs Guillermo Rocha, Dominique B. Massicotte et Ken Rosenthal ont partagé leur expertise et leur sagesse, qui ont servi à proposer des stratégies pour les chirurgies extrêmes de la cataracte.

De plus, le samedi matin, le Dr Phil Hooper, président du Conseil de la SCO sur les grands enjeux de la profession, a fait le point sur les efforts déployés par l'organisation pour rehausser le profil de l'ophtalmologie au Canada et défendre les intérêts des membres à l'échelle nationale. La présentation a eu lieu pendant la séance Notions courantes II et a attiré un très grand nombre de participants, dont les commentaires ont été extrêmement positifs, tout comme la réponse des membres aux vidéos « Voir les possibilités » qui ont été produites à ce jour - mettant en lumière les façons dont les ophtalmologistes aident leurs patients : voirlespossibilites.ca/. Plus important encore, les membres ont eu l'occasion d'apprendre comment la campagne a aidé la SCO à rehausser sa présence dans les médias et à faire connaître les compétences et l'innovation des ophtalmologistes aux médias, au public, au gouvernement et aux autres professionnels de la santé.

Parmi les autres séances du programme scientifique, signalons « Intersection ou réunion pour une LIO ? ...et autres questions touchant le segment antérieur en pédiatrie », « Frontières du glaucome » et « Cauchemar dans ma salle d'opération ». Bien sûr, sous ces titres un peu fantaisistes se cachaient des séances très sérieuses visant à aider les ophtalmologistes dans leur pratique quotidienne en leur fournissant des mises à jour sur les procédures et techniques chirurgicales les plus récentes. Des séances ont aussi porté sur les « Pratiques exemplaires en matière de gestion des maladies rétiniennes » et « Le paysage changeant de la maladie ophtalmique et des soins de la vue ».

Cette année marquait le 10e anniversaire de nos Cours de transfert des compétences (CTC) en chirurgie. Depuis leur création en 2010, les cours ont pris de l'ampleur et accueillent maintenant plus de 150 participants par année. Cette année, nous avons repris certains cours très en demande, notamment « Suture d'une lentille intraoculaire et dépannage », « Vitrectomie antérieure » et « Chirurgie micro-invasive du glaucome et procédures connexes pendant la chirurgie de la cataracte ». Nous avons également offert un nouveau cours sur la simulation laser et l'enregistrement vidéo rentabilisé. Les participants ont évolué parmi plusieurs stations, y compris la simulation au laser, les adaptateurs pour téléphones intelligents pour lampes à fente et microscopes, et les modifications aux caméras POV pour l'enregistrement au microscope, l'ergonomie chirurgicale et la chirurgie non basée sur le microscope. Merci à tous nos directeurs de cours et instructeurs d'avoir créé et offert ces occasions d'apprentissage pratiques de calibre mondial qui permettent à nos membres de cumuler des crédits de section 3 du MDC.

Autre événement à souligner au Congrès de Québec, le symposium « Les femmes en ophtalmologie : surmonter les obstacles » qui a eu lieu le dimanche 16 juin, et comportait notamment une table ronde avec la conférencière principale, la Dre Tara McCannel, directrice du Centre d'oncologie ophtalmique de l'Institut de l'œil Stein de l'UCLA à Los Angeles, en Californie, la Dre Yvonne Molgat et l'animatrice, la Dre Femida Kherani. Le groupe d'experts s'est penché sur les principaux défis que doivent relever les femmes en ophtalmologie et sur les techniques permettant de surmonter ces obstacles.

Recherche de pointe

La recherche occupe une place importante à chaque congrès annuel et ce fut certainement le cas cette année. La SCO a reçu plus de 250 résumés d'ophtalmologistes en formation et en exercice. Avec l'aide de nos examinateurs de résumés, nous avons été heureux d'accepter 117 présentations orales et 93 sur affiches, ce qui représente un taux d'acceptation de 82 %. Si vous n'avez pas eu l'occasion de prendre connaissance de la recherche passionnante présentée au congrès, nos livrets des résumés vous permettront de consulter une version écrite de chaque exposé oral et de chaque présentation sur affiche acceptés.

Chaque année, la SCO présente ses « Prix d'excellence pour la recherche en ophtalmologie » à des médecins résidents, des fellows et des étudiants en médecine méritants qui font de la recherche originale et novatrice dans une université canadienne. En 2019, l'excellente qualité des travaux de recherche a mené le comité d'arbitrage des articles à une décision d'égalité. Ainsi, pour la première fois cette année, la SCO est fière de rendre hommage à quatre lauréats méritants dans cette catégorie.

Articles

  • Premier prix - Intraocular antibodies as a novel target for understanding and treating vascular diseases of the eye · Jacob Rullo, Steven Bae, Wilma Hopkins, Isabella Irrcher, Manpartap Bal, Tom Gonder, Sanjay Sharma
  • Deuxième prix - Acetylation of COX-2: An immunoresolving therapy · James J. Armstrong, Liu Hong, Cindy M. L. Hutnik
  • Deuxième prix - A large international study of LHON epidemiology · Alexander L. Pearson, Lissa Poincenot, Rustum Karanjia
  • Troisième prix - Comparison of the diagnostic sensitivity of macular ganglion cell layer thickness, peripapillary retinal nerve fibre layer thickness, and Bruch membrane opening-minimum rim width in detecting glaucoma · Jennifer L. Gao, Jack Quach, Marcelo T. Nicolela, Lesya M. Shuba, Balwantray C. Chauhan, Jayme R. Vianna

Affiches

  • Premier prix - Improving glaucoma surgery with the small molecule ALK-5 inhibitor SB-431542 · Jim T. Denstedt, James J. Armstrong, Cindy M. L. Hutnik
  • Deuxième prix - Long-term visual outcomes of the Boston keratoprosthesis type I · Andrei Alexandru Szigiato, Cristina Bostan, Taylor Nayman, Mona Harissi-Dagher
  • Troisième prix - Amyloid-beta localization in the human retina: Exploring potentials of early and non-invasive ocular detection of Alzheimer's disease · Qinyuan (Alis) Xu, Sieun Lee, Veronica Hirsch-Reinshagen, Ian Mackenzie, Robin Hsiung, Geoffrey Charm, Elliott To, Kailun Jiang, Alice Liu, Marinko Sarunic, Mirza Faisal beg, Jing Cui, Eleanor To, Joanne Matsubara

Nos félicitations les plus sincères à tous les gagnants.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de leurs recherches.

L'espace d'exposition a une fois de plus affiché complet!

Cette année encore, les espaces d'exposition ont tous été vendus. L'événement a attiré des partenaires de premier plan de l'industrie qui ont mis en place des installations encore plus sophistiquées et intéressantes pour les délégués. Le Salon des exposants de Québec a attiré des centaines de participants qui se sont réunis pour échanger, discuter et réseauter dans un environnement dynamique et professionnel.

Assemblée générale annuelle de la SCO

L'assemblée générale annuelle (AGA) de la SCO a eu lieu le 14 juin 2019. La présidente de la SCO, la Dre Yvonne Buys, et la directrice générale et chef de la direction, Jennifer Brunet-Colvey, ont fait le point. La Dre Amin Kherani, trésorière, a présenté la vérificatrice, Mme Stephanie Courneyea, de McCay Duff LLP, qui a présenté les états financiers vérifiés de 2018. Le Dr Colin Mann a été élu président désigné de la SCO, le Dr Jamie Taylor a été réélu pour un autre mandat de trois ans comme secrétaire de la Société et le Dr Ravi Dookeran a été élu trésorier. Le mandat du Dr Guillermo Rocha au poste de président sortant du Conseil de la SCO se terminait en juin et on l'a remercié de toutes ses contributions à la SCO au fil des ans. Les membres ont également remercié le Dr Amin Kherani pour ses trois années de service à titre de trésorier. La Dre Buys a exprimé sa gratitude au Dr Allan Slomovic pour ses contributions au cours des six dernières années au Conseil d'administration de l'Association panaméricaine d'ophtalmologie (PAAO) et au Dr Rand Simpson pour ses 25 années de service en qualité de représentant de la SCO au Conseil international d'ophtalmologie et pour son soutien au Congrès mondial d'ophtalmologie (CMO). Enfin, comme Mme Brunet-Colvey prendra sa retraite en septembre 2019, les membres l'ont remerciée pour ses 10 années de service à la Société et lui ont remis le premier prix « Ami de l'ophtalmologie canadienne » en reconnaissance de l'incidence importante qu'elle a eue sur la SCO et sur l'ophtalmologie au Canada.

Réception d'accueil

Le Congrès annuel de la SCO propose des activités sociales chaque année, la plus importante étant la réception d'accueil de la soirée d'ouverture. Cette année, les délégués ont eu droit à une magnifique réception le soir du 13 juin à l'hôtel Hilton, en face du Centre des congrès de Québec. Ils ont pu déguster de la poutine québécoise authentique, ainsi que des hors-d'œuvre et des cocktails. Un groupe d'ophtalmologistes de la région a également offert aux invités une prestation musicale en direct de chansons contemporaines et de musique folklorique française classique. La réception de bienvenue a encore une fois été une occasion inégalée de réseautage tant pour les nouveaux ophtalmologistes que les professionnels chevronnés.

Le prix de Reconnaissance pour l'ensemble d'une carrière décerné à la Dre Hélène Boisjoly

La SCO a été heureuse de décerner cette année son prix Reconnaissance pour l'ensemble d'une carrière à la Dre Hélène Boisjoly pour sa contribution exceptionnelle et continue à l'ophtalmologie et aux soins de santé au Canada.

Après avoir obtenu un diplôme en ophtalmologie de l'Université de Sherbrooke en 1981, la Dre Boisjoly s'est spécialisée en recherche sur la cornée à la Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary et à l'Institut Schepens de recherche sur l'œil, affilié à l'Université Harvard (1981-1983). En 1992, elle a obtenu une maîtrise en santé publique de l'École de santé publique Bloomberg de l'Université Johns Hopkins. Elle a été chercheuse et fellow du Fonds de recherche du Québec-Santé (FRQ-S) de 1986 à 2001 et a travaillé à l'Université Laval (1983-1993) avant de devenir chef du Département d'ophtalmologie à l'Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont, affilié à l'Université de Montréal (1993-1998).

En recherche, la Dre Boisjoly s'intéresse à l'immunologie de la transplantation, aux maladies virales comme l'herpès oculaire et aux résultats fonctionnels après une transplantation de la cornée. Elle a reçu un financement sans interruption jusqu'en 2013 et a publié de 80 articles scientifiques originaux. Elle a formé 120 médecins résidents et 50 étudiants postdoctoraux, dont plusieurs fellows. Depuis 2011, elle est doyenne de la Faculté de médecine de l'Université de Montréal. Elle a également siégé à plusieurs conseils d'administration et organismes pour l'avancement des sciences et de l'éducation médicale : elle a notamment présidé l'Association des facultés de médecine du Canada (2014-2016) et, depuis 2012, elle est membre de la prestigieuse Alliance M8, un réseau international d'universités vouées à l'amélioration de la santé dans le monde. En décembre 2018, la Dre Boisjoly a été nommée membre de l'Ordre du Canada. La SCO a été honorée de rendre hommage au travail de la Dre Boisjoly.

Remerciement spécial

La SCO tient à remercier tout particulièrement les conférenciers de marque internationaux, les conférenciers invités canadiens et les présentateurs de résumés qui nous ont consacré leur temps et leur expertise et ont offert de riches possibilités d'éducation et d'apprentissage. Nous tenons également à remercier chaleureusement tous les délégués qui ont assisté aux séances ainsi que les commanditaires qui nous ont généreusement appuyés. Nous remercions sincèrement les présidents des séances et les directeurs des cours de TCC qui ont élaboré un programme éducatif remarquable, ainsi que le personnel de la SCO sous la direction de notre présidente de l'assemblée annuelle, la Dre Mona Harissi-Dagher. Merci encore d'avoir contribué au succès du Congrès de cette année.

Des photos supplémentaires de la réunion annuelle et de l'exposition de cette année seront envoyées séparément aux membres de la COS au cours des prochaines semaines. Nous avons hâte de revoir tout le monde au prochain Congrès annuel et Exposition de la SCO, qui aura lieu à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, du 25 au 28 juin 2020.