Main Content

COS Advocacy and Public Awareness Fund recognition wall

Thank you to our members who have contributed to the COS Advocacy and Public Awareness Fund!

As our way of saying thank you for your generosity and support, we wanted to publicly recognize your contribution through our contributors’ list below.

By supporting the Advocacy and Public Awareness Fund, you’re supporting the COS to continue its strong advocacy and public awareness work at a federal level and empowering the provinces, subspecialty societies, and academic community with advocacy tools, training, and resources to help raise the profile of the profession. When we stand united, we have a more powerful voice on the issues that affect our profession and the state of eye and vision health in Canada.

If you have not yet contributed to the COS Advocacy and Public Awareness Fund, you may do so by contacting Rita Afeltra at or at: 613.729.6779 x300 for details.


Note: Every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy and completeness of these important lists. We apologize for any errors or omissions.

In addition to the contributors listed below, we also thank 20 others who donated $700 each, but wish to remain anonymous.

$1000+ contributors

Sherif El-Defrawy, MD
Philip Hooper, MD
Christopher Jackman, MD
Daniel O’Brien, MD
Michael O’Connor, MD
Guillermo Rocha, MD

$700-$999 contributors

Beatrice Adante, MD
Feisal Adatia, MD
Nina Ahuja, MD
Mohamed Albahiti, MD
Carolyn Anderson, MD
Chris Anjema, MD
Steve Arshinoff, MD
Ronald Baldassare, MD
Malcolm Banks, MD
Dorothy Donna Bautista, MD
Stephanie Baxter, MD
Robert Beldavs, MD
Lorne Bellan, MD
Graham Belovay, MD
Alan Berger, MD
Rajiv Bindlish, MD
Catherine Birt, MD
François Blanchette, MD
Andrew Boswall, MD
Michael Brent, MD
Calvin Breslin, MD
Stephen Brodovsky, MD
Matthew Brucks, MD
Kyle Brydon, MD
Andrew Budning, MD
Todd Buglass, MD
Lulu Bursztyn, MD
Yvonne Buys, MD
Robert Campbell, MD
Monica Carrillo, MD
Hernando Chacon-Andrade, MD
Jeffrey Chambers, MD
Clara Chan, MD
Stanley Chan, MD
Varun Chaudhary, MD
Trevor Chin Fook, MD
King Chow, MD
Edmund Collins, MD
Gilles Cormier, MD
Olivia Dam, MD
Karim Damji, MD
Mahshad Darvish-Zargar, MD
Alexandre de Saint Sardos, MD
Erin Demmings, MD
Béatrice Des Marchais, MD
Ravi Dookeran, MD
Michael Dorey, MD
Stephanie Dotchin, MD
Anne Drysdale, MD
Derek Dunphy, MD
Catherine Eplett, MD
James Farmer, MD
David Fine, MD
Yamina Fodil-Cherif, MD
Bryce Ford, MD
Côme Fortin, MD
Éric Fortin, MD
Mark Gans, MD
Jane Gardiner, MD
Steven Gilberg, MD
Howard Gimbel, MD
John Gonder, MD
Chloe Gottlieb, MD
Lisa Gould, MD
Francine Guay, MD
François Guinard, MD
R. Rishi Gupta, MD
Patrick Hamel, MD
John Hamilton, MD
Christopher Hanson, MD
Isabelle Hardy, MD
Mona Harissi-Dagher, MD
Tim Hillson, MD
Patricia Hinton, MD
Eugene Hladky, MD
Vernon Ho Yuen, MD
Glen Hoar, MD
Simon Holland, MD
Hussein Hollands, MD
Bernard Hurley, MD
Jonathan Hurst, MD
Naushad Hussein, MD
Cindy Hutnik, MD
Wessel Ingram, MD
Mary Louise Jackson, MD
Delan Jinapriya, MD
David Johnson, MD
David Jordan, MD
Conrad Kavalec, MD
Ross Kennedy, MD
Amin Kherani, MD
Stephen Kosar, MD
Nathalie Labrecque, MD
Kevin Lachapelle, MD
Lisa Lagrou, MD
Laurent Lalonde, MD
Alain Laplante, MD
Patricia-Ann Laughrea, MD
Brian Leonard, MD
Andrea Leung, MD

Steve Levasseur, MD
David Lewis, MD
James Lewis, MD
Susan Lindley, MD
Ian MacDonald, MD
Mark Mandell, MD
Colin Mann, MD
Joshua Manusow, MD
Samuel Markowitz, MD
Mathen Mathen, MD
Charles Maxner, MD
Kristine Mayer, MD
Chryssa McAlister, MD
J. Martin McCarthy, MD
Ian McIlraith, MD
Robert McMahon, MD
Kamiar Mireskandari, MD
Andrew Mis, MD
Rajender Mohandas, MD
Yvonne Molgat, MD
Karen Moosbrugger, MD
Roger Morrissette, MD
Edward Moss, MD
Conor Mulholland, MD
Nawaaz Nathoo, MD
Brian Nelson, MD
Navdeep Nijhawan, MD
Donald Nixon, MD
Jason Noble, MD
Ravi Nrusimhadevara, MD
Heather O’Donnell, MD
James Oestreicher, MD
Sean O’Leary, MD
Lindsay Ong-Tone, MD
Katherine Paton, MD
Nataly Pesin, MD
Steven Poleski, MD
Natashka Pollock, MD
Karim Punja, MD
Michael Quinlan, MD
Paul Rafuse, MD
Cory Ramstead, MD
Marc-André Rhéaume, MD
Rusty Ritenour, MD
Rehan Riyaz, MD
Kenneth Roberts, MD
Steve Roberts, MD
Johane Robitaille, MD
Jamie Rogers, MD
Chris Rudnisky, MD
Hady Saheb, MD
Arif Samad, MD
Robert Sanders, MD
Steven Schendel, MD
Blair Schoales, MD
Kelly Schweitzer, MD
Robert Scott, MD
Raymond Seto, MD
K. Briar Sexton, MD
Vijay Sharma, MD
Thomas Sheidow, MD
Ali Shoughary, MD
Byron Silver, MD
Rémy Simoneau, MD
Carolyn Skov, MD
Allan Slomovic, MD
Donald Smallman, MD
Leonard Smith, MD
Stanley Smith, MD
Donna Smythe, MD
Barry Sniderman, MD
Enitan Sogbesan, MD
Sohel Somani, MD
Curtis Sorgini, MD
Martin Spencer, MD
Frank Stockl, MD
Zakaria Tadrous, MD
Mae Tam, MD
Alexander Tan, MD
James Taylor, MD
Joshua Teichman, MD
Martin ten Hove, MD
Matthew Tennant, MD
David Tingey, MD
Aron Tischler, MD
Todd Urton, MD
John van der Zweep, MD
Devesh Varma, MD
Christopher Waite, MD
Randy Walker, MD
Charlotte Wedge, MD
Ezekiel Weis, MD
James Whelan, MD
Geoff Williams, MD
Keith Yap, MD
George Yearsley, MD
Natasha Yepes, MD
Jacky Yeung, MD
Tarek Youssef, MD
James Znajda, M


About your privacy

COS recognizes that some individuals do not wish to be publicly recognized for their contributions. The wishes of those who ask for confidentiality will be respected. We will obtain your written consent for recognition based on your personal preferences. More information about our privacy policies

“Telling our story, speaking with one voice as experts in the medical and surgical treatment of eye disease, advocating on behalf of our patients, and improving the delivery of eye care to Canadians. These actions are vitally important to us as ophthalmologists to ensure that we continue to retain, and deserve, our pivotal position in the delivery of eye care, now and in the future. I support the advocacy activities of the COS, both with time and with money, to help them work with subspecialty societies, academia, and provincial associations to engage the public and government and have our voices heard. I would encourage you to do the same. Together we CAN make a difference.”Phil Hooper, MD, FRCSC

“I would encourage all COS members to contribute to the Advocacy and Public Awareness Fund. As I enter my final 6 months as President of the COS, I have become more aware of the issues that affect our profession as a whole, in the immediate term but more importantly, into the future. There is no better time to work together, joining the efforts of the COS in raising the profile of Ophthalmology, ensuring that our voice is heard as we approach government at all levels, the media and the public. The ultimate result will be better patient care and the preservation of our Specialty.”Guillermo Rocha, MD, FRCSC, FACS

“Contributing to the COS advocacy fund is important to me as I have relied on the COS as a resource in my dealings with my provincial medical society, the provincial government and the changing landscape of vision care delivery. The information provided to me as well as the leadership and guidance of the COS have helped me become a stronger voice for our specialty.”Ken Roberts, MD, FRCSC

Congratulations to the Board of Directors for initiating the COS Advocacy and Public Awareness Campaign. The great work done by those working in ophthalmology including clinical care, teaching and research has been a secret for far too long. Time to spread the news and further the benefits to our patients now and into the future.Daniel M. O’Brien, MD, FRCSC